Bio-inspired Robotics & Design Laboratory
Singapore University of Technology and Design


Our work is multidisciplinary, we rely on modeling and understanding of basic physical principles to guide creative designs that are heavily influenced by nature. We are also experimentalists at heart and enjoy testing our ideas in the real world. We welcome creative and motivated researchers to join our collaborative environment and help us develop original scientific advances.

Principal Investigator

Pablo Valdivia y Alvarado, Ph.D. MIT
Assistant Professor
Engineering Product Development Pillar (EPD).
Principal Investigator & Research Committee Member, Digital Manufacturing and Design Centre (DManD).
Associate Editor, IEEE Robotics and Automation Letters (RA-L).
Associate Editor, IOP Multifunctional Materials (MFM).
Curriculum Vitae
Administrative assistant:
Lim Yong Chau

Research Fellows


Vincent Sebastian Joseph (Ph.D), Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Chemistry.

Theo Calais (Ph.D), Research Fellow, Nanomaterials Engineering.

Truong Van Tien (Ph.D), Senior Research Fellow, Mechanical/Aerospace Engineering.

Joanne Teoh (Ph.D), Research Fellow, Industrial Design/Mechanical Engineering.

Narasimha Boddeti (Ph.D), Research Fellow, Computational Mechanics.

Elgar Kanhere (Ph.D), Research Fellow, Mechanical Engineering.

Ravi Chaithanya Mysa (Ph.D), Research Fellow, Computational Fluid Mechanics.

Researcher Associates  

Vinoth Kumar Viswanathan (M.S), Electrical Engineering.

Thileepan Stalin (M.S), Mechatronics/Mechanical Engineering.

Siddharth Kumar (B.S), Mechanical Engineering.

Snehal Jain (B.S), Chemical Engineering.

Graduate Students 

Li Guangtong (Doctoral Candidate), Mechanical Engineering.

Tan Jun Wei Brandon (M. Eng. Candidate), Mechanical Engineering.

Dontu Saikrishna (M. Eng. Candidate), Mechanical Engineering.

Gumawang Hiramandala (M. Eng. Candidate), Mechanical Engineering.

Visiting Students

Undergraduate Students/UROPs


Past Members

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!